20 Most Anticipated Movies of 2017

fist-fight

  1. Fist Fight- Opening February 17th

Fist Fight is an upcoming comedy featuring Charlie Day and Ice Cube. The trailer really had me laughing, and I hope that they didn’t put all the laughs in the trailer. I am a big fan of Charlie Day, I think he is hilarious, and Ice Cube can be really good given the right material. I love him in the Jump Street movies, but not as much in the Ride Along movies. I am cautiously optimistic about this film, and for that reason I can’t really get it above number 20.

kong-skull-island

  1. Kong: Skull Island- Opening March 10th

I wasn’t a huge fan of the latest Godzilla movie, but I thought it was serviceable. This new King Kong movie looks more up my alley. It seems from the trailers that we will be getting much more Kong in this movie than we got of Godzilla in his movie. The cast is also promising, including Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L Jackson, John C. Reilly, and last year’s Lead Actress Oscar winner, Brie Larson. The action looks like it should be pretty entertaining, and this movie gets us one step closer to the showdown between King Kong and Godzilla.

the-mummy

  1. The Mummy- Opening June 9th

The Mummy is the first film in Universal’s new reiteration of their monster universe. It stars Tom Cruise as the protagonist, Russell Crowe as Dr. Jekyll, and Sofia Boutella as the titular mummy. I wasn’t thrilled with the trailer the first time I saw it, but the more I watch it, the more I like it. I think starting their cinematic universe off with a Tom Cruise starring vehicle is a great move, as he still puts asses in seats. I’m really hoping this movie is good, as that will obviously give me more confidence in their vision for the rest of the films going forward.

the-belko-experiment

  1. The Belko Experiment- Opening March 17th

The Belko Experiment is a horror/thriller that is written by James Gunn, which is one of the main reasons I am looking forward to this one. The trailer also looks really fun, like Saw in a corporate setting. It stars Michael Rooker (Guardians of the Galaxy, The Walking Dead) and John C. McGinley (Scrubs). This movie definitely has the potential to be not very good, but I am choosing to be optimistic since I enjoyed the trailer, and genre films are dear to my heart.

kingsman-the-golden-circle

  1. Kingsman: The Golden Circle- Opening October 6th

Kingsman: The Golden Circle is of course the sequel to the breakout hit Kingsman: The Secret Service, which was a hell of a good time. Matthew Vaughn is back to direct the sequel, which is promising, and they are somehow bringing Colin Firth back as well. I am curious to see how they explain that away in the story. Julianne Moore is playing the villain in this one, which I am really excited about, as I love her acting. October is too far away.

thor-ragnarok

  1. Thor: Ragnarok- Opening November 3rd

Thor: Ragnarok is the third installment in the Thor series of films, and will see Thor team up with Hulk and Doctor Strange to save Asgard from destruction. There are still many details of the story that haven’t been revealed at this point, but the fact that Cate Blanchett is the villain is already an exciting idea. The only thing that keeps this from being higher on the list is the fact that we don’t know a whole lot about it and that the Thor films have typically been the weakest in the MCU.

dunkirk

  1. Dunkirk- Opening July 21st

Dunkirk is the newest film from acclaimed director Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight, Memento). The film takes place during World War 2, during the Battle of France. I am always excited for a new Nolan film, although I wasn’t a huge fan of Interstellar. The trailer did a great job of pulling you in without really giving away much at all in regards to the storyline. I’m excited to see what Nolan does with this material.

beauty-and-the-beast

  1. Beauty and the Beast- Opening March 17th

I don’t feel like I need to explain to anyone what Beauty and the Beast is, so I will forego that. Man, what a stellar cast this has turned out to be. I think Emma Watson is the perfect choice for Belle, Luke Evans looks like he is going to kill it as Gaston, and the rest of the cast should do great as well. I’m not completely sold on the look of some of the characters, particularly Mrs. Potts and her son Chip, but hopefully it doesn’t take me out of the movie. This movie is going to smash the box office for a while, and I will be a contributor to that total.

john-wick-chapter-2

  1. John Wick: Chapter 2- Opening February 10th

The first John Wick was such an awesome, bad-ass surprise, and now we are getting a sequel that will seemingly up the stakes and take John global. It’s good to see Keanu Reeves back with another successful action franchise. It looks like we will also be getting more scenes in the Continental hotel, which was one of the things that made the first one more than just a dumb action movie. Ruby Rose is also in this film, and it will be interesting to see how she does as her star continues to rise. Only a couple weeks until this one hits theaters.

a-cure-for-wellness

  1. A Cure For Wellness- Opening February 17th

A Cure for Wellness is the new thriller from Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the Caribbean, The Ring) and it centers around Dane Dehaan’s character being sent by his company to the Swiss Alps in order to bring back their CEO from a treatment facility. From there, things spiral out of control in what looks like it will be a trippy movie. Dehaan is a very good actor, Amazing Spider-Man 2 withholding, and it looks like he will have something to really sink his teeth into here.

get-out

  1. Get Out- Opening February 24th

Get Out is the directorial debut for Jordan Peele of Key and Peele fame. This is definitely not the type of movie I would have expected him to make, but it looks great. It has a very Stepford Wives feel to it, with its own twist of course. The initial trailer sold me right away and the early buzz for this film out of Sundance has only increased my anticipation for it. I am a genre junkie, so this film will hopefully be right up my alley. Less than a month to go for this one.

HAR_DM_FIRST LOOK RND F04

  1. Justice League- Opening November 17th

Alright, so the truth is that Justice League is probably the one movie of 2017 that I am most hoping is good. I enjoyed Man of Steel decently and Batman V Superman had its moments, but neither of them were particularly good movies. Zak Snyder is just a very visual filmmaker, which you want for a superhero movie, but you also want a good storyteller, and he just hasn’t mastered that yet. I truly hope that this movie is great because Batman is my favorite superhero ever and I want to love everything that character is in, but Snyder’s track record with DC movies so far is the reason why I just can’t put it higher on this list.

spider-man-homecoming

  1. Spider-Man: Homecoming- Opening July 7th

This will be Tom Holland’s first full outing as Spider-Man after his very well received introduction in Captain America: Civil War last year. The trailer had a very John Hughes feel to it, which I really liked. I also love Michael Keaton, so I am excited to see him as The Vulture in this film. I am hoping that the Tony Stark scenes we got in the trailer are the only ones in the movie, as I don’t want the film feeling like it has to rely on him to get people in the theaters. This is Spider-Man, people are going to go see it no matter what. I have loved everything I have seen of this movie so far, so July can’t come fast enough.

war-for-the-planet-of-the-apes

  1. War for the Planet of the Apes- Opening July 14th

July is going to be jam packed, as this film we be coming out a week after my last pick, Spider-Man: Homecoming. This is the final film in the new Apes trilogy that started with Rise of the Planet of the Apes in 2011. I have thoroughly enjoyed both films, and the trailer for this one got me even more pumped. Woody Harrelson is almost always great, and he should bring a menacing presence to the film. Seeing how or if this film’s ending will tie back into the original film from the 60’s is something I am also curious to see.

blade-runner-2049

  1. Blade Runner 2049- Opening October 6th

Ahhh Blade Runner. The original film is one of the most divisive movies I have ever discussed with people. Many people I have talked to love it, with some even saying it is their favorite sci-fi movie of all time. Many others straight up don’t like it at all, and then there are a few who claim they really like it because they feel like they are supposed to. As far as my opinion, I like it. I can’t really say I love it, because a lot of it is very plodding and slow, but it is a well made movie, and I enjoy it enough to own it on blu-ray. The reason Blade Runner 2049 is so high on my list of anticipated movies is an amalgamation of reasons. One of the reasons is Ryan Gosling, I am a big fan of his and I think this is a good fit for him. Secondly, Harrison Ford is coming back. Let’s just hope we get a Force Awakens level of effort and not a Kingdom of the Crystal Skull level of effort. My next reason would be the fact that this movie is being shot by Roger Deakins, so that means it is going to be fucking gorgeous. He is hands down my favorite cinematographer, and he will make sure this movie is a pure joy to look at. My final, and biggest reason I am looking forward to this movie is because it is being directed by Denis Villeneuve. He is one of my favorite directors working today. Enemy, Prisoners, Sicario, and Arrival are all great films, and the fact that he is doing a Blade Runner movie is just incredibly exciting. Those four reasons are what takes this from being somewhere around the bottom of my top 20 to being here at number 6.

alien-covenant

  1. Alien: Covenant- Opening May 19th

Alien is one of my favorite movies of all time, and Aliens is amazing as well. The director’s cut of Alien 3 isn’t terrible, and Alien: Resurrection is a guilty pleasure, even if it isn’t a good film. All of that is to say that the Alien franchise holds a very special place in my heart, and I want so bad for this film to be great. I enjoyed Prometheus for what it was, although it wasn’t what I was hoping it would be. I loved the trailer for Alien: Covenant, especially the tense scene that opened the trailer, and the shower shot at the end. I am really hoping that this is a return to true Alien form from Ridley Scott, who began to come out of his slump last year with The Martian. This movie has the chance to steal my heart, here’s hoping it does.

wonder-woman

  1. Wonder Woman- Opening June 2nd

Wonder Woman will be the first film in the DCEU to not be directed by Zak Snyder. For that reason, I am very excited to see how this one will turn out. Patty Jenkins is the director of this film, and although trailers can be deceiving (Thanks Phantom Menace) the trailers for Wonder Woman have honestly blown me away. I have absolutely loved everything I have seen of this film so far. I have always been a supporter of Gal Gadot in this role, as I think she is a great fit for Wonder Woman. She was great in Batman V Superman, the best thing in that movie actually, aside from maybe Ben Affleck as Batman. I think the humor in the trailers has been spot on and the action scenes look very well done. Also, the critical success of this movie will play a large part in how well Justice League does at the box office. I am optimistic about this.

logan

  1. Logan- Opening March 3rd

I can’t fucking wait for this movie! Whether or not this is actually Hugh Jackman’s last appearance as Wolverine or not, the movie itself looks amazing. As soon as the first trailer started and “Hurt” by Johnny Cash started playing, I was sold. It is just the perfect song for this film as far as tone, and seeing Jackman and Stewart together again is great. I also love that they are introducing X-23. The third film in each X-Men trilogy has been the hands down worst one, but this looks to be the exact opposite. Origins was terrible, The Wolverine was actually good for about 80% of the film, and this one I think will be the best of the three. Can’t wait to see this in theaters opening weekend.

guardians-of-the-galaxy-vol-2

  1. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2- Opening May 5th

Holy shit, please give me this movie now. The first time I saw the original film, I thought it was decent, but I didn’t love it. I’m not sure if I was sick or just having a bad day, because after watching it the second time, I loved it. Each subsequent viewing has only made me love this film more. Guardians of the Galaxy and Captain America: The Winter Soldier are my two favorite Marvel films. It’s difficult to explain how excited I am about this movie. The trailers so far have been perfect, even without revealing much of anything about the story. Baby Groot will own the summer, and rightfully so. Some people are afraid of the movie relying too heavily on him, but I really don’t think that will be a problem. James Gunn is going to make the film he wants to make, regardless of how popular Baby Groot is. I can’t wait to see Kurt Russell playing a planet. The magic of this movie will come from the same place as the first one, the chemistry between the Guardians themselves. As long as that stays true to what it is, this film will be great. Also, it comes out the day after my birthday, so that will be a great birthday gift.

star-wars-episode-viii-the-last-jedi

  1. Star Wars: Episode VIII- The Last Jedi- Opening December 15th

Are you really surprised? I mean, it’s Star Wars. I know that not everyone is a Star Wars fan, but I grew up on the original trilogy. The prequels were what they were, I’m not really a fan, but I’m not going to turn this into that kind of post. I loved The Force Awakens, even with its flaws. Star Wars has always been about the characters for me, and I love the characters in this new generation. Rey is my favorite, followed by BB-8 and Kylo Ren (with his mask). I of course can’t wait to see what they do with Luke in this movie, and also it will be bittersweet to see Carrie Fisher in her final performance as Princess Leia. Hopefully they give Captain Phasma more to do in this film. Rion Johnson (Looper) is a good director, and I am beyond excited to see what he will do with his shot at the Star Wars universe.

Leave a Reply

